Email Sign In by Firebase

To use Sign In, you will need to first create your own Firebase account and project

Set up

Create your free Firebase account and create a new project

Enable Email / Password sign in

In the Firebase console, navigate to Authentication and the tab "Sign-In Method". Enable Email/Password as shown below.

Connect your Firebase account with Thunkable

There are two properties that you need to retrieve from Firebase to connect it with Thunkable which are both retrievable from the Firebase console: API key and database URL

API key and database URL

(Optional) Modify the email template you send to verify your users' emails

Sign up

The first step for users is to Sign Up with their email address and a password. They will be sent an email to verify the address that they provided. A sample block that also saves login credentials locally with stored variables is provided below:

Event

Description

Sign up ( email, password))

Signs up a user for a new account. Returns an error if sign up is not successful. A common error is "The email address is already in use by another account."

Sign in

Users who sign up will be sent an email to verify the email address they provided is valid. You can use the blocks below to check whether they have verified their email before they can proceed further

When the user's email and password have been stored locally, the following blocks can be used to sign the user in with these details automatically.

Event

Description

Sign in ( email, password)

Signs in an existing user. Returns an error if sign in is not successful, either because the email is not registered or the password is incorrect. You can also use the isEmailVerifiedoutput to limit user to sign in only if they have verified their email

Sign out ( email)

Signs out a user from an account, usually to sign in with a different account

Reset password ( email)

Sends an email to a user to reset their password

​

​

Manage user access

On the Firebase console, navigate to the Users tab under Authentication and you'll find a dashboard where you can reset a user's password, disable and delete their accounts.