Links
Comment on page

Share Your App

Overview

Sharing your app project with others is a crucial step in the app development process. Whether you want to gather feedback from colleagues or show off a prototype to a client, Thunkable makes the sharing process easy and flexible.
There are many different ways to share your project. You can choose to share:

Share a Fully Editable Copy of Your App Project

When you share a link to your project the recipient will get a copy of your UI components and your blocks. For security purposes, we remove personal data from your project settings such as API keys and URLs unless you specifically request to share those.
Please note, that if you have account information in your blocks or your UI design then this will not be removed. Only data in your App Settings is removed.
When you generate a share link, it creates a copy of your app project at the point in time you generate the link. If you update your app and want your collaborators/remixers to have the latest copy, you'll have to generate a new link.
  1. 1.
    Click the Share icon in the top right corner of your project.
  2. 2.
    Click Share App.
  3. 3.
    Click to place a checkmark in the associated box if you want to share your project with API keys and passwords included.
  4. 4.
    Click Generate Link.
  5. 5.
    You will be given a share link and an expiry date. The share link will no longer work after this date.
These links expire after 60 days. If you want Creators to have access to your project for a longer period, sharing a link to the Project Details Page is a better choice.
When a user clicks your share link, a copy of your app will automatically appear in their account. You can keep track of how many times your project is copied, on the project's tile or line item, on your projects page.

Share a Read-Only Version of Your App Project

When you share a read-only version of your app project, those who click the link do not automatically get a copy of your app in their account, but they can create an editable copy of it if they wish.
To share a read-only version of your app project:
  1. 1.
    Within the project, click the gear icon in the left sidebar to access the App Settings.
  2. 2.
    Ensure the Public App setting is toggled on.
  3. 3.
    Copy and share your project's URL.
Each project has a Project Detail Page where you can preview your app, similar to when it has been published as a mobile web app. In addition, the Project Detail Page includes a button to copy the project. This is a great option for sharing your app with other Creators when you want them to have access beyond the expiration of the Share App option.
To share a link to your app's Project Details Page:
  1. 1.
    Click the Share icon in the top right corner of your project.
  2. 2.
    Click Project Details Page.
  3. 3.
    Copy and share the page's URL.